Beware of traderdomains.net scam

December 25, 2009

About a year ago I acquired a domain name. At the time, the .com version was, disappointingly, taken. I settled for .net.

I received an email* the other day:

traderdomains.net scam email

Exciting news indeed! Since I haven’t yet launched the website, I could get the .com address and move everything over. I hurried over to their link to purchase it. As I was filling out the form, a very rational thought occurred to me: Google traderdomains.net.

So I did. I found this. And this. My heart sank. A scam? But after reading the posts and the comments left on those sites, I realized that, although traderdomains.net is a scam, they’re partially telling the truth. The .com of my domain has become available. These scumbags were just trying to get me to buy it from them to make a profit.

So I popped over to my web host DreamHost.com, did an availability search for the .com name, and five minutes later I’m the proud owner of it (for three years anyway). A quick Google search saved me $40 and kept the cash out of these greedy bastards’ hands.

But I can’t get too mad. They do provide a valued service. At least they alerted me that the .com was free now.

*Domain name removed as I am not quite ready to release it. In due time folks, in due time.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • LinkedIn
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter

{ 3 comments… read them below or add one }

Christine Garvin December 25, 2009 at 12:55 am

Thanks for the tip, Carlo. Sucks that every time you get a message from a company or someone you don’t know, you have to wonder if they are real or not.

Can’t wait to hear the domain name – it’s gotta be a good one!

Andy Hayes - Sharing Travel Experiences December 25, 2009 at 1:14 am

Yikes – that was a close call. Good thinking on the Google check.

The Domain Naming Dude February 8, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Yeah, I get this too and nearly fell for it. But mine was the Grabtabs.com version of a domain name that surprisingly someone let expire.

I wrote about it here

http://the-name-i-wanted-was-already-taken-so-i-used-a-lot-of-dashes.com/the-traderdomains-net-scam-avoid-this-rip-off-company/

Leave a Comment

Previous post: Writer’s curse

Next post: Out of Office Alert